Guess What The Fish Sings To The Hook

Book Cover



Mark Barkley

  • -
  • Views


Sabienn Feel and his brothers enter the rich and powerful country of Upper Deerland. His father, the Grand Inquisitor Profound, has covertly pushed his Secret Police into the country to catch and kill him. Sabienn seeks to get even and expose his father who plans sabotage against an ally.



Short Summary

Sabienn Feel enters Upper Deerland to seek a locket owned by a young woman. After being used by violent and detached teenagers, Sabienn achieves his read. Upon the journey he has found evidence, left at a massage parlour, of terrorist acts to be undertaken by his father, against their ally Deerland

Sabienn saves a friend from execution. With her input, he seeks to stop the fake terrorists. They attend a targeted meeting where the fake terrorists are killed by real terrorists. Sabienn fails to get his hands on the evidence linking his father but it is uncovered by way of a news story the end.



Based on a True Story


Plot - Premise


Plot - Other Elements


Mature Audience Themes

Substance Abuse

Main Character Details

Name: Sabienn Feel

Age: 23

Gender: Male

Role: Protagonist

Key Traits: Adventurous,Manipulative,Decisive,Complex,Leader

Additional Character Details

Name: Braylenn Skenn (Bray)

Age: 23

Gender: Male

Role: Logical

Key Traits: Adventurous,Strong Moral Code,Outspoken,Educated,Faithful,Confident

Additional Character Details

Name: Storkinn Keel (Stork)

Age: 23

Gender: Male

Role: skeptic

Key Traits: Adventurous,Blunt,Sarcastic,Funny,Faithful,Complex

Additional Character Details

Name: Dippin Trayne (Deep)

Age: 23

Gender: Male

Role: emotional

Key Traits: Selfless,Adventurous,Complex,Empathetic,Faithful,Gracious,Honorable,Patriotic

Development Pitch

This would make a great film as it is about the underdog. Four men are rendered freaks when they grew wings in keeping with a native legend, only to find it a calling to save the planet Whee on which they reside. The images have a cinematic style and the expression of their emotions is done with funny, pointed and often moving dialogue. It is largely through their speech that their feelings are laid bare. The scenes span wide time periods through the device of Sabienn's ability to be able to 'read' an object in his hand. The story is always moving forward but the flashes to the past fill the pages with back-story. Sabienn Feel is a leader but troubled with his own inadequacies. He is loyal to his three brothers and seeks to kill his Father who killed two hundred women, four of whom were the four men's mothers. The map of Whee where all the action takes place is enclosed with this submission. This series of books is mainly aimed at despondent and restless young teenage men. Kind Regards. Mark Barkley

About The Author

For the past thirty years, it has been Mark Barkley’s great pleasure to have created work that has been appreciated by various audiences throughout Brisbane, within Australia and online. Primarily his focus had been on being a playwright within the 90’s. But recently his sole focus has turned to creating the book series The Sabienn Feel Adventures. He has had several plays which have enjoyed a successful theatrical staging or reading within Australia. (“The Captains and The Kings”-1995, “Goodbye Melaleuca”-1996, “Sylvia Terry”-1998 and “A Kind of Belgium”-2000) Two of the plays featured here have been short listed in the George Landen Dann award, Queensland’s premium award for excellence in playwriting. (“The Captains and The Kings”-1992 and “Goodbye Melaleuca”-1995). He also created the short film “Spades” as writer/director and this was short listed in the top ten films of the third annual What’s On Short Cut Film Fest and screened in 2001 at the Brisbane Powerhouse. In 2007, he rewrote and updated his book “The Big Sugar Election” which was originally completed in 1990. Currently he is offering books in his fantasy adventure novel series The Sabienn Feel Adventures. “When The Stone Shepherds Awaken” completed in 2015 is the first book in this series, which is now free and on offer with its companion piece, “Stories From The Distant Planet”, which is also free. The books in this series now boast the following titles, “Where The Black and Grey Wolves Kiss”, “Why The Sister Moons Swallowed Rage”, “The Two Men Who Kill To Be Carbon” and “Guess What The Fish Sings To The Hook”. Keep an eye out for more to come.

Target Audiences

Age: 18-34

Target Gender: Universal

Group Specific

Information not completed

Publishing Details

Status: Yes: self-published

Publisher: Amazon

Year Published: 2020

Hard Copy Available



Information not completed