GRACE: Book 2 The Dreaming Series

Book Cover


1960s & '70s,1980s & '90s

Jan Reid

  • -
  • Views


The story of a part Indigenous Australian woman, confronted with accepting or rejecting her aboriginality amidst a backdrop of racial tension.


Drama,Family,Historical Fiction,Young Adult,Romance

Short Summary

Grace Taylor discovered on her tenth birthday that she was not only adopted but the daughter of a part-aboriginal woman. She had felt lost and unloved ever since. However, following clues, she writes to someone seeking further information to discover the respondent is her biological mother, Mary.

Grace finally accepts her aboriginality, thanks to Mary's teachings, and that Dan loves her for who she is, despite what her rival, white Australian girl, Jasmine, does. Later she receives a huge inheritance bequeathed to her from her paternal white grandmother as she is her only grandchild.


The Central West, NSW, Australia.

Based on a True Story


Plot - Premise

Internal Journey/Rebirth

Plot - Other Elements

Happy Ending,Meaningful Message,Philosophical Questions,Twist

Mature Audience Themes

Information not completed

Main Character Details

Name: Grace Taylor

Age: 23

Gender: Female

Role: Protagonist

Key Traits: Heroic,Insecure,Modest,Romantic,Lone Wolf

Additional Character Details

Name: Daniel (Dan) Matthews

Age: 24

Gender: Male

Role: Emotional

Key Traits: Charming,Confident,Faithful,Gracious,Educated,Honorable,Romantic,Masculine

Additional Character Details

Name: Mary Rutherford

Age: 44

Gender: Female

Role: mentor

Key Traits: Gracious,Honorable,Strong Moral Code,Engaging

Additional Character Details

Name: Jasmine Healy

Age: 23

Gender: Female

Role: antagonist

Key Traits: Badass,Manipulative,Unapologetic,Seductive

Development Pitch

Grace: Book 2 The Dreaming Series, focusses on an adopted part-aboriginal woman’s journey in finding her biological mother and learning to accept her aboriginality. It is also a love story which presents the challenges she must overcome in respect of racial discrimination. Grace finds her mother through her own efforts and learns to be proud of her heritage due to her mother’s mentoring. Through her personal growth, she eventually accepts the love offered to her by the love of her life. Finally, she receives a huge inheritance bequeathed to her from her paternal grandmother, who is the mother of the white man who raped her mother, from which Grace was conceived. Against the backdrop of the land which once belonged to the largest indigenous nation of New South Wales, and stories of their culture, carefully researched and authenticated by a Wiradjuri elder, this story, inclusive or not of book 1 (Deep Water Tears), & 3 (Barons Reach), compiling The Dreaming Series, would make a compelling movie or television mini-series, for those interested in the history, indigenous culture and racism of Australia.

About The Author

Jan Reid is an Australian storyteller, focussing on stories of ordinary rural Australians, in extraordinary circumstances, from the country’s recent history. A sixth-generation Australian, Jan’s first novel, Deep Water Tears, which morphed into The Dreaming Series books (Deep Water Tears, Grace and Barons Reach) was inspired by Bryce Courtenay’s, ‘Jessica’. Jan resides in rural New South Wales, where she writes novels and screenplays about Australian people and the events which shaped their lives and their country.

Target Audiences

Age: 13-17,18-34,35-54,55+

Target Gender: Universal,Male Leaning,Female Leaning

Group Specific

Australians, and those interested in Australian history / indigenous culture / racism.

Publishing Details

Status: Yes: self-published

Publisher: Self Published

Year Published: 2015

Hard Copy Available



ISBN-13: 978-0994248725