In the Presence of Wolves: The Adventures of Ranger Jacob Clarke

Erick Nason 2443683987515


18th Century

Erick W. Nason

  • -
  • Views


Follows a young Ranger, Jacob Clarke as he fights through the French and Indian War, and during the Anglo-Cherokee War. After settling in South Carolina, joins the Continental Army during the American Revolution. After the fall of Charleston, joins Francis Marion's partisans.


Action,Adventure,Other,Historical Fiction,War

Short Summary

Jacob Clarke joins Rogers Rangers as a young scout, and begins to learn Ranger fighting skills. He conducts numerous scouts, and fights at the Battle of Lake George, comes to the rescue of the Provincials during the Bloody Morning Scout, and the fighting around bloody pond.

A seasoned veteran, Jacob Clarke along with his men must rescue one of their own who had been captured by the Ottawa following the fall and massacre of Fort William Henry. In a daring night attack, they rescue their friend,and some of the civilians from the fort, and escort them back to Fort Edward


Upper New York, Quebec Canada

Based on a True Story


Plot - Premise


Plot - Other Elements


Mature Audience Themes

Information not completed

Main Character Details

Name: Jacob Clarke

Age: 15 to begin with

Gender: Male

Role: Protagonist

Key Traits: Adventurous,Masculine,Badass,Honorable,Leader

Additional Character Details

Name: Konkapot

Age: 17

Gender: Male

Role: Sidekick

Key Traits: Adventurous,Badass,Faithful,Honorable,Skillful,Masculine

Additional Character Details

Name: Samuel

Age: 20

Gender: Male

Role: sidekick

Key Traits: Adventurous,Patriotic,Funny,Sarcastic,Educated

Additional Character Details

Name: Captain Reynolds

Age: 26

Gender: Male

Role: antagonist

Key Traits: Narcisstic,Power Hungry,Insecure

Development Pitch

With the current trend where the audience has enjoyed historical series like "Turn" and "Hamilton," this series of books will not only meet these needs, but as a series, can also expand into a "Game of Throwns" type series as the main character travels through the French and Indian War, through the American Revolution. There has not been a series on TV since 1971. This series will immerse the viewer into the world of the Ranger, seeing how they lived, how they fought, and the trials and tribulations they experienced. The series has its heroes, and its villians, both who should peak the interrests of the viewers, based on current feedback from the book. Along with the action/adventure of battle, it also has drama and romance as the main character deals with love on the frontier during the war.

About The Author

Erick Nason was born and grew up in Glens Falls, New York, spending much of his childhood in the Lake George region and the Adirondack Mountains. He served in the United States Army, serving with the 2nd Ranger Battalion and the 10th Special Forces Group for twenty years. While in the service, he received a Bachelor’s of Arts Degree in World Military History and a Master’s of Art Degree in Military Studies: The American Revolution, both from the American Military University. He retired from the Army in 2005, went to work for TATE Incorporated as an instructor, specializing in personnel recovery, and earned a Doctorate in Education, specializing in military history from Walden University. He previously published his autobiography From Desert Storm to Iraqi Freedom: One Soldier’s Story. For a hobby, he has been a living historian and reenactor since 1987. Nason lives with his wife Karin and daughter Samantha in South Carolina.

Target Audiences

Age: 13-17,18-34,35-54,55+

Target Gender: Universal

Group Specific

History of upstate new York, key historic locations

Publishing Details

Status: Yes: self-published

Publisher: Mascot Books

Year Published: 2015

Hard Copy Available