What She Saw

Book Cover



Sheila Lowe

  • -
  • Views


Imagine waking up on a train and having no recollection of how you got there. The more you think, the more you realize that you don't have any idea who you are...no name, no memories, no life. A man who says he knows her gives her a ride home where she finds two IDs and two sets of keys. Two lives?



Short Summary

A young woman awakens on a train. She doesn't know how she got on the train, nor where she is headed. She doesn't know her own name. She is recognized by someone who says he knows her as Jenna, so she assumes he is not trying to mislead her. Desperate to recover her memory, Jenna follows every lead.

"Jenna" discovers that she is actually Jenna's twin sister, Jessica. As memories begin to fall into place, Jess discovers dark secrets and dangerous liaisons who will stop at nothing to win


Ventura and Venice, California

Based on a True Story


Plot - Premise

Overcoming Monster/Villain,Internal Journey/Rebirth,Other

Plot - Other Elements


Mature Audience Themes

Language/Profanity,Extreme Violence

Main Character Details

Name: Jessica Mack

Age: 27

Gender: Female

Role: Protagonist

Key Traits: Complex,Desperate,Empathetic,Educated,Honorable,Selfless,Romantic

Additional Character Details

Name: Zach Smith

Age: 30

Gender: Male

Role: Logical

Key Traits: Adventurous,Badass,Aspiring,Charming,Complex,Confident,Decisive,Empathetic,Heroic,Educated,Honorable,Masculine,Skillful

Additional Character Details

The author has not yet written this

Additional Character Details

The author has not yet written this

Development Pitch

What She Saw is the first book in the Beyond the Veil series. Proof of Life, released in April 2019 is book two in what has proven to be a very popular series. Originally planned as a traditional mystery/thriller, the storyline has evolved along with the protagonist, Jessica Mack. Jessica, having endured tragedy, amnesia, and loss, has stopped ignoring the voices inside her head. She isn't crazy, she's hearing people who have crossed to the other side of life. Since they know she can hear them, they want something from her—give messages to their loved ones. When he's assigned to find a missing child, FBI agent Zach Smith prevails on Jessica to help him. Jessica, who is a talented miniaturist, tends to go into spontaneous trances and creates miniature crime scenes that clearly relate to cases Zach is investigating.

About The Author

The mother of a tattoo artist and a rock star, Sheila Lowe lives in Southern California with Lexie the Very Bad (sometimes evil) Cat, where she writes the award-winning Forensic Handwriting series. Like her fictional character Claudia Rose, she’s a real-life forensic handwriting expert who testifies in court cases. Sheila writes "medium boiled," books (definitely not cozies) that she think of as psychological suspense. In other words, she puts ordinary people into extraordinary circumstances and makes them squirm. She writes non-fiction books about handwriting, too. Her latest are Reading Between the lines: Handwriting Decoded; Advanced Studies in Handwriting Psychology; Personality & Anxiety Disorders, How They May be Seen in Handwriting. Sheila also authored The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Handwriting Analysis, Handwriting of the Famous & Infamous, and Handwriting Analyzer software. Stop by and sign up for notices: www.claudiaroseseries.com Contact Sheila at sheila@sheilalowe.com For information about handwriting analysis, please visit www.sheilalowe.com https://www.facebook.com/Sheila-Lowe-author-handwriting-examiner-265676710332/ twitter: @sheila_lowe BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/sheila-lowe

Target Audiences

Age: 18-34,35-54,55+

Target Gender: Female Leaning,Universal

Group Specific

Information not completed

Publishing Details

Status: Yes: with a Publisher

Publisher: Suspense Publishing

Year Published: 2014

Hard Copy Available