Saving The Dragons

Book Cover

YOUNG ADULT ADVENTURE MYSTERY FANTASY SUSPENSE/THRILLER ACTION FAMILY EPIC

19th Century

Catriona MacRury

  • -
  • Views

Logline

Two brothers find themselves thrown into the middle of a scheme of deception and misdirection. On their journey to uncover the truth they find allies in unlikely places, build friendships bound to last a lifetime, test their own family bonds & meet a feisty, strong willed young lady like none other

Genre

Young Adult,Adventure,Mystery,Fantasy,Suspense/Thriller,Action,Family,Epic

Short Summary

The dragons of the Celtic Islands are protected under the Endangered Species Act. When 18 year old Tharill finds a mortally wounded dragon the question arises, is it a simple matter of outlaws trophy hunting or something more sinister which could lead to war between two nations.


War is barely averted but the effort to save the draglings is thwarted leaving a bleak outlook for the young dragons. Although, in an interesting twist, the adult dragons rescue their own offspring. As we are shown in the end, the intelligence of these creatures should never be underestimated.

Setting

Celtic Islands (imaginary islands) and out at sea

Based on a True Story

No

Plot - Premise

Quest,Overcoming Monster/Villain,Voyage and Return

Plot - Other Elements

Coming of Age,Happy Ending,Meaningful Message,Twist

Mature Audience Themes

Information not completed

Main Character Details

Name: Tharill Gruaige

Age: 18

Gender: Male

Role: Protagonist

Key Traits: Confident,Engaging,Flexible,Honorable,Leader,Naive,Strong Moral Code,Faithful,Sarcastic,Romantic,Funny,Outspoken,Selfless,Blunt,Modest,Masculine,Adventurous,Charming,Gracious,Sexy

Additional Character Details

Name: Reesa Burlong

Age: 16

Gender: Female

Role: Skeptic

Key Traits: Adventurous,Aggressive,Engaging,Heartthrob,Heroic,Honorable,Naive,Funny,Skillful,Outspoken,Selfless,Blunt,Charming,Confident,Decisive,Sarcastic,Aspiring,Flexible,Gracious,Educated,Leader,Strong Moral Code,Sophisticated,Romantic,Visionary,Unapologetic,Complex,Empathetic,Modest,Sexy,Faithful

Additional Character Details

Name: Prince Rutgar Van Slauthe

Age: 19

Gender: Male

Role: logical

Key Traits: Adventurous,Aspiring,Badass,Charming,Complex,Confident,Decisive,Engaging,Flexible,Heartthrob,Heroic,Educated,Honorable,Leader,Masculine,Sexy,Blunt,Selfless,Outspoken,Skillful,Secretive,Sophisticated,Strong Moral Code,Unapologetic,Faithful,Gracious,Romantic,Patriotic,Sarcastic,Funny

Additional Character Details

Name: Curro Delagarza

Age: 32

Gender: Male

Role: antagonist

Key Traits: Badass,Aggressive,Charming,Confident,Decisive,Greedy,Educated,Leader,Unapologetic,Manipulative,Sophisticated,Secretive,Sarcastic,Skillful,Outspoken,Power Hungry,Blunt,Narcisstic,Villainous,Masculine,Sexy

Development Pitch

BooViral Review, London, UK The first in an intended series of novels from MacRury, Saving The Dragons taps into our continued fascination with Dragon lore whilst briinging a refresing new perspective which is free of trite cliches. With far too many fantasy reads wallowing in unnecessary complexity, MacRury only linger in detail long enough to establish a sense of time and place. Avoiding the drudgery of predictability with timely twists and revelations there is however a distinctly satisfying meticulousness with which she has approached her world-building. Her backdrops are well-conceived and there is an economy to her prose which keeps them light whilst she weaves a delightful web of intrigue that will appeal to readers of all ages. Drawing on Celtic influences there is certainly plenty of magic, which is well observed, but it's thematic and not imperative as it's MacRury's characters that ultimately drive the plot. Characters that are thoughtfully introduced to bring depth and complexity to her tale with her young protagonists Tharill and the enigmatic Reesa proving immediately endearing. A delightful fantasy read which is sure to appeal to readers of Mythology & Folk Tales, Saving The Dragons is strongly recommended.

About The Author

Catriona is the former publisher of Horse Country News, author of numerous equine care, training and health articles. She is also the author of several light- hearted short stories such as Professor Burlong's Guide to Dragon Watching and the Headless Chicken Guide Service. Catriona returns to Ireland and Wales every year where she draws much of her inspiration for her Celtic adventures.

Target Audiences

Age: 55+,35-54,18-34

Target Gender: Universal

Group Specific

Information not completed

Publishing Details

Status: Yes: with a Publisher

Publisher: 5th St./Irish House Publishing

Year Published: 2016

Hard Copy Available

Yes

ISBN

10-0692609490